CSTF Founders’ Awards


The CST Founders’ Awards were created in honour of five individuals who were instrumental in creating and establishing the Canadian Scholarship Trust Foundation - Arthur Pigott, Rowland Lloyd, Gladys E. Neale, Peter Wright, and Kenneth Le M. Carter. These awards support CST beneficiaries who have already completed post-secondary education and are looking to continue their education through another post-secondary program. The funds can be used to cover the cost of tuition and other school-related expenses such as books and supplies.

Please note that the awards are for students who demonstrate financial need, and whose financial need may make it difficult for them to continue their studies. When making the selection, preference will be given to students who are the first in their family to pursue post-secondary education.

This year, there are 10 awards available, each worth $10,000.

Eligibility criteria

You must:

  • be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident in Canada
  • be a CST beneficiary who has received all your Canadian Scholarship Trust Plan Education Assistance Payments
  • demonstrate financial need
  • have graduated from an eligible post-secondary institution (degree or diploma)
  • be enrolled or will be enrolling into another diploma/degree program at a qualifying post-secondary institution in Canada to continue your education
  • not have received this award before (formerly known as the Canadian Scholarship Trust Graduate Award)

Eligible PSE institutions include apprenticeship or trades certificate or diploma; college, CEGEP or other non-university certificate or diploma; university certificate or diploma below bachelor level; or a university degree.


Applications are typically made available in April each year and are due in early May. We endeavor to announce the results by the end of June and distribute the awards to students during the summer. The exact timing for 2021 is as follows:

  • Applications open: April 5, 2021
  • Applications due: May 7, 2021
  • Winners notified: by June 30, 2021
  • Awards distributed to students: by early August 2021

Application requirements and process

Applications are submitted through an online application portal. While the specific requirements may change each year, the core components of an application always include:

  • Transcript from most recent post-secondary education program
  • Admission decision letter (when available) from an eligible post-secondary institution showing acceptance to the school for the following academic year
  • A personal statement about the applicant’s financial need
  • One reference letter
  • One short essay question

Applications will be evaluated based on financial need and character by an internal CSTF awards committee.

Past Winners

Check out our 2021 winners here!

Please note that this program was formerly known as the CST Graduate Awards and had different eligibility and evaluation criteria. The profiles of our 2020 CST Graduate Award winners are not necessarily indicative of the types of students we are seeking to support through the CSTF Founders’ Awards.


Send us an email at [email protected]